My experience at The Ellen Show!

If you know me, you know I’m OBSESSED with Ellen DeGeneres and her show. I could literally watch reruns for the rest of my life and still laugh at everything she says. Well, I got the chance to go to her show so I thought I’d share the process and experience with you all! I’m writing this blog post for two reasons. The first is because reading other peoples blog posts about their experiences helped us figure out the right time to get there and how the entire stand-by process worked. Second, writing about it will help me release some of the hype I gained from the experience, haha.

A couple months ago, my sister (who lives in LA) called to say she got standby tickets to the show. They advice you to not travel for standby tickets because there’s no guarantee you’ll actually get into the studio audience. BUT, as I said before, I’m obsessed with Ellen, and so is the rest of my family, so we couldn’t pass up the opportunity. We booked flights and headed to LA for a Monday taping of the show!

Here’s the rundown:

1. The morning of our taping, we lined up in the parking garage of Studio 3. We got there at 7:30 a.m and were the 15-19th people in line. They start handing out numbers at 9 a.m and then you’re free to go until 1:30 p.m. We got our numbers, headed out to grab breakfast and then came back to the parking garage around 12:30 p.m. Keep in mind, we still don’t know if we get to be apart of studio audience at this point. Also, this was not your average parking garage. There were flat screen TVs playing previous episodes, speakers playing music to dance to, and an Ellen Shop so you can buy some goodies before the show!

2. At around 1, a super sweet and energetic girl came up to us and asked us a few simple questions and eventually asked us to meet her outside after an announcement she had to make. That’s when we realized…SHE WORKED FOR ELLEN!

3. She made an announcement to ask that everyone she talked to individually meet her outside, so we did! There were only about 25 people that she chose (out of 350+) so it was super special that we were chosen. She told us we were chosen because she thought we were the biggest Ellen fans (personally, I agree). She talked to us again, individually, and we later found out that they narrow it down to about 3-4 people who would be called down in the event that a game is played that day! It was a such a cool experience.

4. Finally, it was time to line up. This was the moment we would find out if we get into the studio audience. Well, guess what?! We did!


5. We lined up and they walked us into the building across the street and then eventually through the riff raff room and into the studio!

6. They sat us down, went over some basic rules (sadly, no pictures allowed), and then DJ Twitch made his entrance. He danced through the aisles and chose select audience members to join and my sister got to dance with him! SO fun to watch!

6. After that, it was time for Ellen to come out. What you see on TV is pretty much how the taping goes. During commercials, they have dance contests which are fun. Ellen was still out during them but was occupied considering she is at work. Our episode had three guests: Minnie Driver, Luke Evans, and Noah Cyrus.

Ellen DeGeneres

In this photo released by Warner Bros., a taping of “The Ellen DeGeneres Show” is seen at the Warner Bros. lot in Burbank, Calif. (Photo by Michael Rozman/Warner Bros.)

 (If you look closely, you can find my group of 4 in the back)

Believe it or not, my favorite part of the taping was during a commercial break. I put both my hands up and started waving and little did I know, Ellen looked up into the audience at that exact moment. She waved back to me and my entire life was complete. I realize that sounds dramatic but it’s true. After the show ended, Ellen thanked the audience and then it was time to say goodbye 😦 we went back out to the riff raff room, grabbed a couple goodies from the gift shop and headed out.

Being able to attend The Ellen Show was honestly a DREAM of mine and I wasn’t sure if it would actually come true. I’m so grateful that I got this opportunity and I hope I get a chance to go again, but in the meantime, I hope you all get a chance to experience it also!

XOXO,

SHANA

 

 

One thought on “My experience at The Ellen Show!

Leave a Reply

